Where Collaboration Shapes Success

AM14Photo (640x640)I don’t know about you but I’m enjoying my Michigan summer so far. Our state has so much to offer in both things to do and people to meet. That’s why I’m really getting excited about my trip to Boyne Mountain Resort this August 20 – 22 for the MEDA Annual Meeting.

This year I’ve had the pleasure and privilege to serve as the Annual Meeting Committee Chair. I know firsthand the caliber of expertise represented on that committee and their professional intent to offer an outstanding agenda for everyone.

In an effort to “reinvent” Michigan there has been a great deal of discussion and emphasis on regionalism, forming partnerships and working collaboratively within and across jurisdictions in an overall effort to streamline processes to increase efficiency and reduce costs. With this in mind, we themed this year’s meeting “Operation Sandbox: Where Collaboration Shapes Success.”

Over the course of the two day conference, we will tackle some of the difficult issues economic developers wrestle with while meeting the challenge of successfully forming practical and meaningful collaborations to “get their job done.” Along the way, we will hear of the success stories from communities who have taken action and formed some very unique partnerships to solve very unique problems. Hint: our list of economic development partners is broadening to include some nontraditional players.

I am also eager to hear our keynote speaker, Della Rucker, Principal at Wise Economy, who wrote The Local Economy Revolution, What’s Changed and How You Can Help. I read and thoroughly enjoyed her book. She speaks about a sea change in the way the world works today and how communities and economic developers may need to adjust their thinking on how they approach these changes. I expect some interesting recommendations.

So, as I said, I’m very excited this summer to be in Michigan and to be a part of the important work that is being done to keep Michigan moving forward. But, there is always more to learn, more interesting people to meet so I hope you will join me in August for the MEDA Annual Meeting.

See you in August!

Marsha

Marsha Madle, CBSP
Madle Consulting Services, LLC
Meridian Township EDC

Leave a Reply

